Veterinary College Rewa

History Of College

It has a unique history of excellence and development since inception. The college started under Agra University as a satellite branch of Mathura Veterinary College (U.P.). However, the degree of B.V.Sc. & A.H. was awarded to the first batch students of Mhow College by Vikram University, Ujjain. The journey of this college did not stop here. After the first affiliation with Vikram University, it was shifted to JNKVV, Jabalpur from 1964, then RVSKVV, Gwalior from 2008 and finally affiliated to present University NDVSU, Jabalpur under the act 16 of M.P. Vidhan Sabha in 2009. Initially, the classes, academic works and student’s accommodation were started in the cantonment area building like bunglow No. 33, Dak bunglows and even then the state bus depot building. These facilities were continued till the college has its own huge building with required modern spaces and amenities for veterinary education at Rasalpura, 4 kilometers from Mhow and 18 km from Indore city.

From its origin almost sixty years ago, College of Veterinary Science and Animal Husbandry, Mhow (M.P.) has offered a distinctive education in a unique setting. The Institute takes a legitimate pride in its contributions and distinguished services pro rata in achieving the goals. The Institute has its long heritage and glorious history. The foundation stone of the college was laid on 27th December 1954 by Shri V.V. Dravid, the Minister of Labor and Dr. R.L. Kaushal the founder Principal.

The College was established as “College of Veterinary Science and Animal Husbandry cum Livestock Research Institute” on 12th July 1955 in the lap of Malwa region. The present premises of the college were inaugurated by the first Prime Minister of India Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru.

College became the constituent unit of the Jawaharlal Nehru Krishi Vishwa Vidyalaya, Jabalpur on 2nd October 1964. In it’s more than 60 years of eventful journey the institute has been the torch bearer for the scientific development in the area of Veterinary Science and Animal Husbandry. After the establishment of Rajmata Vijayaraje Sindia Krishi Vishwa Vidyalaya, Gwalior on 19th August 2008, this college became the constituent unit of this Vishwa Vidyalaya. Later the college became the constituent unit of newly established Madhya Pradesh Pashu Chikitsa Vigyan Vishwa Vidyalaya, Jabalpur on 3rd Nov. 2009. Now the new name of university is Nanaji Deshmukh Veterinary Science University (NDVSU) w.e.f. 3rd Nov. 2012.

© 2024 NDVSU. All Rights Reserved.
Designed and Developed by CRISP